Kommentare


Haben Sie Verbesserungsvorschläge für diese Seite? Wir würden uns freuen, von Ihnen zu hören.

Name:
E-Mail-Adresse:
Kommentar:
Es werden keine Antworte für Feedback gegeben. Für Unterstützung, bitte klicken Sie hier.

Erweiterter Bericht(Video abspielen)

Ein erweiterter Bericht bietet Zugriff auf alle Daten, die für eine Domain, eine Subdomain oder einen URL verfügbar sind.

Erweiterte Berichte stellen auf dem Bildschirm Informationen über die wichtigsten Backlinks (nach ACRank) bereit, wobei der komplette Datensatz heruntergeladen werden kann.

Für Eigentümer von Websites, die eine kleine Verifizierungsdatei hochladen können, sind erweiterte Berichte kostenlos. Lesen Sie weitere Informationen zu unseren erweiterten Berichten.

Berechtigungszeitraum

Der Zeitraum, in dem Ihre Nutzungsberechtigungen aktiv sind. Wenn Ihr Abonnement nach diesem Zeitraum weiterhin aktiv ist, werden die Nutzungsberechtigungen zurückgesetzt. Berechtigungszeiträume sind in der Regel monatlich (je nach den Nutzungsbedingungen), können jedoch bei Sonderabonnements variieren.

Analyseoptionen

Wenn ein erweiterter Bericht erstellt oder dafür die Aktion "Neue Analyse erzwingen" ausgeführt wird, werden auf jede Zeile standardmäßig verschiedene Optionen angewendet, über die Daten, an denen Sie nicht interessiert sind, entfernt werden können. Standardmäßig werden zum Beispiel Erwähnungen aus dem erweiterten Bericht entfernt. Diese Optionen können geändert werden, sodass für zukünftige Ausführungen von "Neue Analyse erzwingen" und optional von "Backlinks herunterladen" die neuen Regeln gelten. Die "Analyseoptionen" werden auf Quell- und Ziel-URLs angewendet, und es kann nach Feldern wie "Letztes Durchsuchungsdatum" gefiltert werden.

Ankertext

Der mit einem Hyperlink verknüpfte Text, der sich in der Regel zwischen den öffnenden und schließenden "a"-Tags befindet. Für Benutzer ist dies der lesbare, anklickbare Teil des Links. Bei Bildern wird der Ankertext häufig als Alt-Text des Links definiert. Suchmaschinen können diesen Text zur Feststellung des Gegenstands des verknüpften Dokuments heranziehen.

Jahresabonnement

Dieses häufig im Voraus bezahlte Abonnement hat eine Laufzeit von etwa einem Jahr, und die Mindestdauer des Abonnements beträgt ein Jahr. Es besteht in der Regel aus 12 Berechtigungszeiträumen, die in dem Monat, in dem sich der Abonnementbeginn jährt, zurückgesetzt werden.

API (auch als Light-API/Enterprise-API bezeichnet)

Majestic SEO verwendet drei API-Klassen. Die API ermöglicht das automatische Abfragen unseres Datensatzes, was andernfalls nicht zulässig ist.

Unsere Light-API enthält den Befehl "GetIndexItemInfo", über den die Anzahl der Überschriften für viele Domains, Subdomains und URLS in unserem Index abgerufen werden kann.

Diese API (zuvor als unsere Unternehmens-API bezeichnet) ist bei unserem Platin-Plan nur zum internen Gebrauch verfügbar (kein Wiederverkauf und keine Verwendung in Anwendungen). Falls der Platin-Plan für Ihre Anforderungen nicht ausreicht, sind umfangreichere Berechtigungen verfügbar.

Unsere Enterprise-API ermöglicht die Erstellung von Webanwendungen und öffentlichen Anwendungen. Die Bereitstellung einer Enterprise-API wird individuell vereinbart und kostet in der Regel mehrere tausend Pfund pro Monat. Setzen Sie sich bei Interesse an einer Enterprise-API bitte mit uns in Kontakt, um weitere Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

Backlink(Video abspielen)

Wird im Zusammenhang mit dem SEO auch als "Rückverweis" bezeichnet.

Die Beschreibung von Link-Daten ist schwierig. Wenn eine Seite fünf verschiedene Links auf eine andere Seite enthält, handelt es sich dann um einen oder um mehrere Backlinks?

Auf dieser Website gilt ein einzelner Verweis pro Seite als ein "Backlink", denn die so ermittelten Zahlen sind einfacher vergleichbar. Dieser Ansatz bereitet jedoch Schwierigkeiten, wenn die Daten ausgehend vom Ankertext betrachtet werden. Jeder Link auf einer Seite kann einen anderen Anker enthalten. Im Hinblick auf den Ankertext führt damit die Methode zur Zählung der Backlinks, die im obigen Fall sinnvoll war, zu weniger aussagekräftigen Ergebnissen.

Der Unterschied zwischen einem Backlink und einem einzelnen Link kann zu Unklarheiten führen. Normalerweise sind natürlich für eine Seite mehr einzelne Links als Backlinks vorhanden. Links können bestimmten Seiten sehr einfach hinzugefügt werden, und deshalb ist die Anzahl der Backlinks statistisch gesehen aussagekräftiger als die Anzahl einzelner Links. Bei Majestic SEO enthalten einige Berichte einzelne Links, eventuell mit Ankertext. Dies führt häufig dazu, dass die Anzahl der für einen bestimmten Bericht zurückgegebenen Zeilen von der Anzahl der angegebenen Backlinks abweicht. Dies ist völlig normal.

Bulk Backlink Checker-Grenze(Video abspielen)

Die Anzahl der Domains, die dem Tool "Bulk Backlink Checker" in einem Vorgang hinzugefügt werden können. Ohne Konto ist diese Anzahl auf 5 Domains begrenzt. Je nach Ebene des Abonnementplans nimmt diese Anzahl jedoch zu.

Citation Flow

Der Citation Flow ist eine Flow Metric von Majestic SEO, die nach der Anzahl der Zitationen für eine bestimmte URL oder Domain gewichtet wird.

C-Subnetz/C-Block/Klasse-C-Subnetz

Beim SEO bezieht sich "Klasse-C-Subnetz" auf ein Netzwerk der Klasse C, wobei das letzte Oktett (durch Punkte getrennte Ziffern) der IPV4-Adresse ignoriert wird. Bei drei Computern mit den IP-Adressen 1.2.3.4, 1.2.3.5 und 1.2.4.1 würde ein SEO-Experte angeben, dass diese Computer auf zwei Klasse-C-Subnetzen gehostet werden.

Diese Begriffe werden bei der Vernetzung technischer Systeme etwas anders als beim SEO definiert, und dies kann zu Unklarheiten führen.

Domain

Ein bestimmter Teilbereich des Internets mit Adressen, die über dasselbe Suffix verfügen, z. B. "majesticseo.com".

Domain-Clustering/Domains mit Links

Domains mit Links sind einzelne Domains (z. B. *.example.com), die mindestens eine Seite mit einem Link auf die Ziel-URL bzw. die Ziel-Domain enthalten.

Flow Metrics

Flow Metrics sind Werte, die Websites und URLs durch Algorithmen zugewiesen werden, die während der Erstellung eines Index auf den Servern von Majestic SEO ausgeführt werden. Die Flow Metrics werden als Zahlen zwischen 0 und 100 ausgedrückt. Je höher die Zahl, desto stärker das Signal.

Flow Metrics werden erzeugt, indem verschiedene Metriken in der Link-Grafik untersucht werden. Diese Technologie bietet einen Hinweis darauf, wie Seiten im Kontext des Internets zueinander stehen (oder zumindest in Bezug auf den Teil des Internets, den wir durchsucht und in den Index aufgenommen haben).

Aktueller Index

Der aktuelle Index enthält Daten von Webseiten, die kürzlich besucht wurden. Derzeit zählen hierzu die Aktivitäten der letzten 90 Tage. Diese Links sind mit höherer Wahrscheinlichkeit "live" als die Links im historischen Index.

Erstmals indiziert

Dies ist das Datum, an dem der Link erstmals gefunden wurde.

Bitte beachten: Wegen Speicherbeschränkungen nimmt die Genauigkeit dieses Datums nach 150 Tagen ab.

Historischer Index

Der historische Index ist der größte Backlink-Index, der im Internet bekannt ist. Der "historische Index" geht bis auf den 6. Juni 2006 zurück und enthält Informationen über Trillionen von Verknüpfungsbeziehungen.

Indexeinheiten

Diese werden in der API-Dokumentation umfassend beschrieben und gelten nicht für reine Webservices.

IP Address

Eine Nummer, die der Netzwerkschnittstelle jedes Computers oder anderer Geräte, die in einem das Internetprotokoll unterstützenden Netzwerk aktiv sind, zugewiesen ist, um die jeweilige Netzwerkschnittstelle (und das vernetzte Gerät) von allen anderen Netzwerkschnittstellen im Netzwerk zu unterscheiden. Bei IPV4, der gängigsten Form der Internetadressierung, ist diese Nummer normalerweise durch Punkte getrennt, z. B. 127.242.0.19.

Link-Profil

Ein Link-Profil ist ein Streudiagramm, das durch das Einzeichnen der Trust und Citation Flows für die Referrers erstellt wird, die auf eine bestimmte Domain oder URL verweisen.

Zuletzt durchsucht

Dies ist das Datum, an dem die Seite mit einem bestimmten Link zuletzt durchsucht wurde.

Verknüpfte Seite und verknüpfter Link

Im Zusammenhang mit Seiten und Links bezieht sich "Seite" auf eine URL, die erfolgreich durchsucht und in den Index aufgenommen wurde. Backlinks sind immer verweisende Seiten, weil wir nicht wissen könnten, womit sie verknüpft sind, wenn sie nicht erfolgreich durchsucht worden wären.

"Link" bezieht sich auf URLs, bei denen festgestellt wurde, dass eine oder mehrere der durchsuchten Seiten auf sie verweisen, wobei jedoch der Link selbst noch nicht durchsucht wurde (oder ein Suchvorgang ist aus irgendeinem Grund fehlgeschlagen).

Lange Domain

Eine lange Domain ist eine Root-Domain mit einer Subdomain, z. B: www.example.com oder ftp.example.com. Beide Beispiele sind lange Domains der Root-Domain example.com.

Max. analysierbare Backlinks

Für jeden Abonnementplan besteht eine Obergrenze für die Gesamtanzahl der Backlinks, die in einem bestimmten Zeitraum in den erweiterten Berichten berichtet werden können. Beim Silber-Abonnementplan beispielsweise können Sie pro Monat 5 Millionen Backlinks analysieren. Wenn Sie also drei Websites mit jeweils 1,5 Millionen Backlinks nachverfolgen möchten, wäre es Ihnen im selben Monat nicht möglich, eine vierte Website derselben Größe zu analysieren, weil dadurch die vorgegebene Grenze überschritten würde. Sie könnten aber trotzdem die Links nur auf die URL oder die Subdomain, an denen Sie interessiert sind, analysieren. Nachdem Sie eine Domain, eine Subdomain oder eine URL in einem bestimmten Berechtigungszeitraum analysiert haben, wird Ihnen eine "erneute Analyse" derselben Daten nicht noch einmal in Rechnung gestellt. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist das Filtern der Daten auf dem Optionsbildschirm.

Verweisende Domain

Eine verweisende Domain ist eine Domain, von der ein Backlink auf eine Seite oder einen Link verweist.

Verweisende IPs

Viele Domains (Websites) können auf einer IP Adresse gehostet werden. Eine verweisende IP ist eine IP, auf der eine oder mehrere Websites mit mindestens einem Link auf eine bestimmte Ziel-URL oder eine Ziel-Domain gehostet werden.

Verweisendes Subnetz

Dies ist eine Abkürzung für "verweisendes C-Subnetz".

Im Majestic SEO-System werden mehrfach gezählte Links berechnet und die Links werden über Seiten (Anzahl der Backlinks), Domains (Anzahl der Domains) und C-Subnetze hinweg dedupliziert. Die Anzahl der C-Subnetze ist nützlich, weil dasselbe Klasse-C-Subnetz von einer Organisation oder von verbundenen Organisationen verwendet werden kann. Bei größeren Websites kann es nützlich sein, die einzelnen Verknüpfungsbeziehungen über C-Subnetze hinweg zu zählen.

Sucheinheiten

Die Sucheinheiten werden in der API-Dokumentation umfassend beschrieben und gelten nicht für reine Webservices.

Root-Domain

Auch als Second-Level-Domain und bei Majestic zuvor als "kurze Domain" bezeichnet.

Die kürzeste Form der Domain ohne Angabe von Subdomains: example.com.

Kurze Domain

Wir verwenden zur Beschreibung dieses Elements jetzt den Begriff "Root-Domain". Der Begriff "kurze Domain" ist als hinfällig zu betrachten.

Quellkennzeichen

Durch Quellkennzeichen wird zwischen verschiedenen Arten von Links unterschieden. Derzeit werden folgende Quellkennzeichen verwendet:

Quellkennzeichen Beschreibung
Bilder Zeigt an, dass es sich bei dem einzelnen Link um ein Bild handelte.
NoFollow Zeigt an, dass der einzelne Link entweder über einen META-Tag oder durch rel="nofollow" als "nofollow" gekennzeichnet war.
Frame Zeigt an, dass der einzelne Link in FRAME-/IFRAME-Tags verwendet wurde.
Weiterleitung Zeigt an, dass die Quell-URL eine Weiterleitung auf den Zielort durchgeführt hat (über die HTTP-Antwortcodes 301, 302 oder die META-Angabe "Refresh").
Gelöscht (oder OldCrawl) Zeigt an, dass bei einer erneuten Durchsuchung dieser Seite festgestellt wurde, dass der dort bei früheren Durchsuchungen gefundene einzelne Link gelöscht wurde. Dies ist häufig der Fall, wenn ein Backlink von der Startseite auf eine der tiefer gelegenen Seiten erfolgt, auf der neue Elemente eingebracht wurden.
AltText Zwei Fälle:
1. Wenn Ankertext vorhanden ist: Der Link stammt aus Alt-/Titelattributen eines A-Tags.
2. Wenn KEIN Ankertext vorhanden ist: Die Ziel-URL wurde in normalem Text auf der Seite gefunden und dort erwähnt. Solche Erwähnungen können eine gute Möglichkeit für den Link-Aufbau darstellen.
Erwähnungen Erwähnungen sind Verweise auf Domain-Namen oder URLs im Klartext. Dies gilt nur für andere Domains als die, auf die verwiesen wird.

Mithilfe der Analyseoptionen können einzelne Links mit bestimmten Quellkennzeichen ein-/ausgeschlossen werden.

Erwähnungen sind Verweise auf Domain-Namen oder URLs im Klartext. Dies gilt nur für andere Domains als die, auf die verwiesen wird.

Standardbericht(Video abspielen)

Ein Standardbericht kann für jede Website erzeugt werden, die in unserem aktuellen Index oder im historischen Index enthalten ist. Ein Standardbericht enthält Informationen über die wichtigsten Backlinks (nach ACRank). Die Anzahl der angezeigten Backlinks variiert je nach Abonnementplan.

Backlinks im Standardbericht

Dieser Begriff wurde früher verwendet, um die maximalen Zeilen im Standardbericht zu beschreiben.

Maximale Zeilen im Standardbericht

Dies ist die maximale Anzahl an Datenzeilen, die in einem Standardbericht bereitgestellt werden. Dieser Wert hängt vom jeweiligen Abonnement ab. Bei einem Silber-Abonnement beispielsweise ist er auf 7.500 Datenzeilen eingerichtet. Wenn also für einen bestimmten Bericht weniger als 7.500 Datenzeilen verfügbar sind, werden im Bericht ALLE Datenzeilen zurückgegeben – wenn der Index dagegen mehr als 7.500 Datenzeilen enthält, gibt der Bericht nur 7.500 Datenzeilen zurück, die aus den besten Backlinks erzeugt wurden. Aus dem Standardbericht werden Links ausgeschlossen, die erneut durchsucht werden oder als "Gelöscht" oder "Erwähnungen" gekennzeichnet sind.

Der Standardbericht enthält Link-Daten aus einer einzelnen Ankertextebene, von denen in einem "Backlink" viele vorhanden sein können. Die in einem Standardbericht berichtete Anzahl kann deshalb von der an einer anderen Stelle der Website angegebenen Gesamtanzahl der Backlinks abweichen.

Top-Level-Domain

Die Top-Level-Domain ist die höchste Domain-Ebene im hierarchischen DNS (Domain Name System) des Internets. Die Namen der Top-Level-Domain befinden sich in der Root-Zone des Namensraums. Für alle Domains auf unteren Ebenen ist dies der letzte Teil des Domain-Namens, also das letzte Label eines vollständigen Domain-Namens. Der Domain-Name "www.example.com" hat beispielsweise die Top-Level-Domain "com".

Beste Backlinks

Über "Beste Backlinks" wird versucht, die wichtigsten Seiten aufzuführen, von denen auf die jeweilige Ziel-URL oder die Ziel-Domain verwiesen wird. Bisher wurde die relative Wichtigkeit von Seiten über den ACRank berechnet, Majestic SEO behält sich jedoch das Recht vor, die zur Berechnung der Seitenwichtigkeit verwendeten Parameter jederzeit zu optimieren.

Trust Flow

Der Trust Flow ist eine Flow Metric von Majestic SEO, die nach der Anzahl der Klicks von einem "seed set" vertrauenswürdiger Websites zu einer bestimmten URL oder Domain gewichtet wird.

Hinweis

Wir versuchen für unsere Benutzer eine optimale Benutzererfahrung zu schaffen, können jedoch nicht ausschließen, dass dieses Glossar Fehler enthält oder unvollständig ist. Diese Seite soll einen Überblick über einige der Verfahren bieten, die Majestic SEO zur Bereitstellung von Daten verwendet. Beachten Sie jedoch bitte, dass die Bereitstellung von Services möglicherweise häufigere Kontrollen erfordert, als in diesem Text angegeben sind. Die Verwendung unserer Services setzt die Annahme unserer Nutzungsbedingungen voraus.

Feedback


Do you have a suggestion that will improve this page? We would love to hear it.

Name:
Email Address:
Feedback:
No replies are given for feedback. For support, please click here.

ACRank

ACRank stands for A-Citation-Rank. It is a very simple measure of how important a particular page is by assigning a number from 0 (lowest) to 15 (highest) depending on the number of unique referring external root domains. Therefore in order for a page or link to have ACRank of 1 or higher it needs to have at least one external backlink. Below you can see the ACRank distribution table showing the minimum number of referring domains for each ACRank level:

ACRank 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Ref Domains 0 1 2 4 8 24 72 216 648 1,944 5,832 17,496 52,488 157,464 472,392 1,417,176

ACRank is a very simple and primitive measure of importance that allows us to prioritise analysis by looking at the data with the highest ACRanks first. However it should be said that in its current design it suffers from a serious drawback: the actual ACRank weight of a backlink is not taken into account, so a page with one backlink of ACRank 1 will have the same ACRank value of 1 just like the other page that has got a backlink with ACRank of 10 (or 15). Clearly the latter page should have got a higher ACRank as being linked to from the more important pages intuitively makes the page they linked to also more important. This drawback is going to be addressed shortly. Despite this limitation ACRank makes it easier to analyse data that is likely to have the highest weight. Meanwhile a concept of ACRank spread is used in an attempt to have better comparison of pages that might have the same ACRank.

ACRank Spread

ACRank spread shows the number of backlinks for the domain, broken down by ACRank. In the example below, the domain has 8024 backlinks with an ACRank of 1, and 1597 with an ACRank of 4.

Rank 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Backlinks 270913 8024 9729 3784 1597 397 87 27 4 2 3 0 0 0 0 0

The table above shows a fairly typical distribution (for a high ACRanked page) - normally the higher the ACRank, the less such backlinks exist. In some cases there are gaps for lower value ACRank, sometimes there are none. The purpose of ACRank spread is to show diversity of backlink ACRanks and thus estimate the value of the URL they point to better, or maybe drill down to see actual backlinks.

Advanced Report(play video)

An Advanced Report provides access to all of the data available on a given domain, subdomain or URL.

Advanced Reports give onscreen access to information about the most important ( by AC Rank ) backlinks, with the full dataset available to download.

Advanced reports are free for registered owners of sites who are able to upload a small verification file. Read more about our Advanced Reports.

Allowance Period

The period of time for which your usage allowances are active. If your subscription is still active after this period, then the usage Allowances will be reset. Allowance periods are usually monthly ( subject to terms and conditions ) but may vary for special subscriptions.

Analysis Options

When an Advanced Report is created or "Force New Analysis" is performed upon it, a set of options are applied to each row by default, which can remove data you may not be interested in - for example, by default, Mentions are removed from Advanced Report. These options can be changed so that future "Force New Analysis" and optionally "Download Backlinks" are subject to the new rules. The "Analysis Options" are applied to Source and Target URLs and can filter on fields such as the Last Crawl Date.

Anchor Text

The text associated with a hyperlink, usually contained between the opening and closing "a" tags. For users, it is the readable, clickable part of the link. With images, anchor text is often defined as the alt text of the link. Search Engines may use this text to help determine the subject matter of the linked-to document.

Annual Subscription

These are subscriptions, often prepaid, that run for approximately a year, with a one year minimum subscription length. Normally, they consist of 12 allowance periods, which are reset on the monthly anniversary of the subscription starting.

API ( Also Light API / Reseller API )

Majestic SEO has three classes of API. The API allows automated querying of our dataset - which is otherwise not permitted.

Our Light API consists of one command - GetIndexItemInfo - which can be used to retrieve headline counts for many domains, subdomains and URLs in our Index.

Our API ( previously called our Enterprise API ) is available with our Platinum Plan for Internal Use Only ( no resale or use in applications ). Larger allowances are available if the Platinum Plan does not fit your requirements.

Our Reseller API facilitates the building of web and public facing applications. Reseller API deals are individually negotiated, and typically cost several thousand pounds a month. Should you be interested in the Reseller API, please contact us to begin discussions.

Backlink(play video)

Also referred to in SEO as an "inlink".

Describing link data is a difficult process. If one page contains five different links to a different page is this one backlink or several?

Generally, for clarity on this site we describe a "backlink" as unique per page - this presents a more easily comparable figure. This approach, however causes difficulties when you look at the data from an anchor text perspective. Each link on a page can contain a different anchor. This means that from an anchor text perspective, the backlink count that made sense above is now less meaningful.

The diffence between a backlink and a unique link can cause confusion. Obviously - there are generally more unique links for a page than backlinks. Due to the ease in which links can be added to some pages, backlink counts tend to be more meaningfull as a statistic than individual link counts. On Majestic SEO, some reports contain unique links, perhaps with anchor text. This often leads to the number of rows returned for a given report being different than the number of backlinks quoted and is quite normal.

Bulk Backlink Checker Limit(play video)

The number of domains you can add at any one time to the "Bulk Backlink Checker" tool. Without an account, it is limited to 5 domains, but increases depending on the level of your subscription plan.

Citation Flow

Citation Flow is one of the Majestic SEO Flow Metrics, which is weighted by the number citations to a given URL, or Domain.

C-subnet / C block / Class C Subnet

In SEO terms, a "Class C subnet" refers to a class-c sized networks, where the last octet ( number separated by dots ) of the IPV4 address is ignored. So if there are three machines, one with IP 1.2.3.4, one with IP 1.2.3.5, and one with IP 1.2.4.1, an SEO expert may say that the machines are hosted on two Class-C subnets.

These terms have subtly different definitions in technical systems networking than in SEO, which can lead to confusion.

Domain

A distinct subset of the Internet with addresses sharing a common suffix, e.g "majesticseo.com".

Domain Clustering / Linking Domains

Linking Domains refer to the number of unique domains ( e.g. *.example.com ) containing at least one linking page to the target URL/domain.

Flow Metrics

Flow Metrics are scores assigned to websites and URLs by algorithms run on Majestic SEO servers during the build of an index. Flow Metrics are expressed as numbers between 0 and 100, the higher the number, the stronger the signal.

Flow Metrics are produced by studying how various metrics alter as they flow through the link graph. This technique provides an indication of how sites compare within the context of the internet ( or, at least, the part of the internet we have crawled and indexed ).

Fresh Index

The Fresh Index contains data from webpages visited recently - currently the last 90 days. These links tend to have a higher probability of being live than links found in the historic index.

First Crawled

This is the date that the link was first located.

Please Note: Due to limitations of storage, The first crawl date degrades in accuracy after 150 days.

Historic Index

The Historic Index is the largest index of backlinks we know about on the web. The "Historic Index" started on 06 Jun 2006 and contains information on Trillions of Linking Relationships.

Index Item Units

These are fully explained in the API documentation and are not applicable to the web-only services.

IP Address

A number assigned to each computer's or other device's network interface(s) which are active on a network supporting the internet protocol, in order to distinguish each network interface ( and networked device ) from every othet network interface anywhere on the network. In IPV4 - the most common form of Internet addressing, this is normally shown in dotted form, 127.242.0.19.

Link Profile

A link profile is a scatter plot, produced by drawing the Trust Flow and Citation Flow for the referrers to a given domain or URL.

Last Crawled

This is the last date the page containing a given link was crawled.

Linked to Page vs Link

In the context of pages vs links, "page" refers to a URL that was actually crawled successfully and included in the index. Backlinks are always referring pages because we could not know what they link to if they were not crawled successfully.

"Link" refers to URLs that were found to be referenced from one or more of the crawled pages, but the link itself has not been crawled yet (or the crawl was attempted but it failed for one reason or another).

Long Domain

Long domain is a root domain with subdomain, eg: www.example.com or ftp.example.com. Both of these are long domains of the root domain example.com.

Max. analysable backlinks

Each subscription plan has a cap on the total number of backlinks which can be reported on in a given period within the advanced reports. By way of example, the Silver subscription lets you analyse 5 million backlinks a month. So if you want to track three sites which each have 1.5 million backlinks, then this would mean that trying to analyse a fourth site in the same month of that size would not be possible, as it would take you over your limit. However, you may still be able to analyze the links to just the URL or the subdomain that interests you. Once you have analysed a domain, subdomain or URL in any given allowance period, you will not be charged again if you "reanalyse" the same data - for example by filtering the data in the options screen.

Referring Domain

Referring domain, also known as "ref domain", is a domain from which a backlink is pointing to a page or link.

Referring IP's

Many domains ( websites ) can be hosted on one IP address. A Referring IP refers to an IP which may host one or more websites, that may contain one or more links to a given target URL or Domain.

Referring Subnet

This is an abbreviation for "Referring C-subnets".

In the Majestic SEO system, Multiple counts are calculate for links, deduplicating links across pages ( which we refer to as backlink count ), across domains ( the domain count ), and across c-subnets. The c-subnet count is useful, as it is possible for the same class c subnet to be used by one, or associatted organisations. For larger sites, counting the unique linking relationships across C-Subnets can be useful

Retrieval Units

Retrieval units are fully explained in the API documentation and are not applicable to the web-only services.

Root Domain

Also known as Second Level Domain, and previously called "Short Domain" on Majestic.

The shortest form of the domain without specifying any subdomains, ie: example.com.

Short Domain

We now use "Root Domain" to describe this concept. The term "Short Domain" should be considered deprecated.

Source flags

Source flags are designed to differentiate between different types of links. The following source flags are currently in use:

Source Flag Description
Images Set if unique link was an image
NoFollow Set if unique link was marked as nofollow either via META tag or rel="nofollow"
Frame Set if unique link was used in FRAME/IFRAME tags
Redirect Set if source URL redirected (using HTTP response codes 301, 302 or META Refresh based redirect) to target location.
Deleted (or OldCrawl) Set if upon recrawl of that page it was established that the unique link found there in previous crawls was deleted. This often happens when a backlink from the homepage goes into one of the deeper pages as new items take real estate on that page.
AltText Two cases:
1. If anchor text is present: it was taken from alt/title attributes of an A tag.
2. If anchor text is NOT present: target URL was found in normal text on the page - in essense it was mentioned there. Such mentions can present a good link building opportunity.
Mentions Mentions are references to domain names or URLs that we find in plain text. This is done only for domains other than the one referred to.

Using Analysis Options it is possible to exclude/include unique links with specific source flags.

Mentions are references to domain names or URLs that we find in plain text. This is done only for domains other than the one referred to.

Standard Report(play video)

It is possible to generate a standard report for any site in our Fresh Index or Historic Index. A Standard Report contains information about the most important ( by AC Rank ) backlinks. The amount of backlinks shown vary according to the subscription plan.

Standard Report Backlinks

A term previously used to describe Standard Report maximum rows.

Standard Report maximum rows

This is the maximum number of rows of data that will be provided in a Standard Report. It changes depending on your subscription. In a Silver subscription, for example, it is set at 7,500 rows of data. This means that if there are less than 7,500 rows of data available for a given report, we will return ALL of the rows of data to you within the report, but if the index contains more than 7,500 rows of data, then the report will only contain 7,500 rows of data generated from the Top Backlinks. The Standard Report excludes links that are recrawled and flagged links as deleted, and links which are flagged as mentions.

The Standard Report contains link data at a unique anchor text level, of which there may be many in one "backlink". For this reason, the counts in a Standard Report may differ from the backlinks totals quoted elsewhere in the site.

Top Level Domain

Top Level Domain is the highest level of domains in the hierachical Domain Name System of the Internet. The top-level domain names are installed in the root zone of the name space. For all domains in lower levels, it is the last part of the domain name, that is, the last label of a fully qualified domain name. For example, in the domain name www.example.com, the top level domain is "com".

Top Backlinks

"Top Backlinks" are an attempt to list the most popular pages linking into the target URL or Domain in question. Historically, AC Rank is used to calculate the relative importance of pages, however, Majestic SEO reserve the right to enhance the metrics used to calulate page importance at any time.

Trust Flow

Trust Flow is one of the Majestic SEO Flow Metrics, which is weighted by the number of clicks from a seed set of trusted sites to a given URL, or Domain.

Note

Whilst we hope to provide the best possible user experience to our userbase, this Glossary may contain errors and ommisions. This page is intended to provide an overview of some of the techniques which may be used in the delivery of data from Majestic SEO - but please note that the provision of any service may be subject to more frequent review than this text. Use of our services is subject to the acceptance of our Terms and Conditions.